Results-Oriented Legal Services

Criminal defense: A look at New Jersey’s death by auto laws

| Jan 29, 2020 | Criminal Defense |

No one wants to be responsible for the loss of another person’s life. As such, most people try their best to behave responsibly. Unfortunately, errors in judgment can and do happen, some of them causing the death of another party.

Drunk driving, for example, is one such way a mistake can lead to tragic consequences. When someone dies as a result of another motorist driving while intoxicated, New Jersey’s death by auto or vehicular homicide laws may come into play. In these cases, the defendant will need as strong a criminal defense as possible.

We hope that our neighbors in the state will wisely choose not to get behind the wheel of a vehicle when they are incapacitated. At the same time, we believe strongly in the nation’s system of justice which says that all people accused of a crime have the right to defend themselves. Without a proper criminal defense, those accused of vehicular homicide could face the following consequences.

  • A prison sentence of five to 10 years
  • A fine of up to $150,000
  • Suspension of the motorist’s driver’s license for at least five years
  • Possible lifetime suspension of the motorist’s driver’s license

A conviction for death by auto will compromise your entire way of life and place your relationships in extreme jeopardy. However, if you take steps early on to build a criminal defense, the consequences could be much less severe. While you will likely feel regretful about the incident, you still have the right to a good defense.

We invite you to learn more about these sensitive topics by continuing to explore our website’s criminal defense pages.