"Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over" Targets Drunk Drivers in New Jersey

Since 1999, the "Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over" program has been used to apprehend suspected drunk drivers in New Jersey. During each summer, as well as through the winter holiday season, additional law enforcement is on the road taking a zero tolerance policy with drunk drivers and vigilantly looking for those who are driving under the influence.

As a result of the program, there were 1,437 drivers arrested for DUI in 2011. In addition, many tickets were issued for various traffic offenses, including over 3,000 tickets for seat belt violations, almost 6,000 tickets for speeding, about 800 tickets for reckless driving and around 2,700 tickets for driving with a suspended license.

Drunk Driving Penalties In New Jersey

Those who are charged with drunk driving in New Jersey face stiff penalties and fines. Drivers who are caught for the first time with a blood alcohol level between .08 and .10 may face a prison term of up to 30 days and a fine of up to $400, as well as the loss of their license for up to three months.

Drivers who are caught with a blood alcohol level of .10 or higher may lose their license for up to one year, be imprisoned for up to 30 days, and get issued a fine of up to $500.

Those who are charged with multiple DUIs in New Jersey face even stiffer penalties. Depending on how many prior arrests they have, drivers may receive up to 180 days in prison. In addition, they may lose their license for up to 10 years and face fines of up to $1,500. These drivers may also be required to install an ignition interlock device on their car, which is designed to prevent them from starting the vehicle if they have alcohol in their system.

Drivers can also be arrested if they are caught with an open container of alcohol in their vehicles. For this offense, drivers may be fined up to $250, and they may be required to complete community service for up to 10 days.

Know Your Rights

A DUI is a serious offense that should not be taken lightly. If you have been charged with the DUI, you face serious consequences. If you are charged with drunk driving, contact an experienced attorney to help you with your case. The legal system can be complicated, and it is best not to try to navigate through it alone. A qualified lawyer can help you mount a good defense against the charges.